Live blog of Honey and Co

The last time I went to Honey and Co I euphorically declared it a 10/10 as I walked out of the door. Despite that, I still haven’t managed to blog about it, which, quite frankly, is just rude. (In fact, I’ve just seen it in my drafts. 14 June 2014. Titled Middle Eastern Heaven. I clearly had good intentions).

So tonight I’m going to try a live blog. Why not hey? What’s the worst that can happen?! Let’s just hope the food is as tasty as last time.

It’s Valentines Day. We are paying a babysitter £50 so we can have a meal out. It had better be good!!

We only managed to get a table by sheer luck. Last night at around 8pm I received a voicemail saying they had a cancellation and if we called back within 15 minutes the table was ours! Thankfully I have fast fingers.

I’m currently sitting in Dabbous bar (lovely by the way – perfect for a date) waiting for Mr E to arrive. I think the staff think I’ve been stood up. I’m on my second cocktail. Thankfully husbands don’t often stand up their wives, so I think I’m safe. He was on handover duty – whilst I flounced off to have my highlights done. Oh it’s an easy life being a mum don’t ya know!

Update:

We are here. I have just announced the live blogging idea. This was the reaction.

IMG_2538

Apparently not very romantic!

I’ll have to save it for when he nips to the loo.

(Long pause)

I behaved myself and kept my phone usage to a couple of quick snaps, which looking at them now are not great – sorry – I’m out of practice!

The good news is that we had a lovely time. The bad news is that I didn’t enjoy the food nearly as much as last time. I think I ordered badly, which is a shame. Therefore I am now awarding Honey and Co is a solid 8/10. Tasty food but perhaps a little hit and miss in places. Oh and prepare to be friendly with your neighbouring tables, as it’s a cosy place.

IMG_2543

We started with the mixed mezze to share. It had all the usual favourites; falafel, hummus, tabbouleh, fattoush, pitta bread and more . Plus a few exciting extras, including a beetroot and herb salad and some pickled celery.

IMG_2544

All delicious and I could certainly have eaten more. In fact, I wish I’d had extra starter and missed the main course.

I opted for Su Boregi. Described as a Turkish “lasagne type thing” with burnt aubergine. It was nice enough but a little bland and stodgy for my liking unfortunately. As I said, a poor choice on my part, it did pretty much do what it said on the tin after all .

IMG_2545

Mr E went for the octopus. Obviously. It was cooked with lemon and paprika and served with a Tunisian bean stew and meshwiya sauce. He said it was fresh, delicious and perfectly cooked.

IMG_2546

For pudding we shared a very tasty chocolate and pecan slice and I had a coffee with an obligatory heart on top to mark the day of romance!

IMG_2548

IMG_2549

So there you have it, my first live(ish) blog. Barely edited and hot off the press. Maybe this is the way forward with a 6 month old baby and a million things that always need to be done.

If you haven’t been to Honey and Co, I would definitely recommend it. Perhaps just don’t let your expectations get the better of you. It’s a low key place serving tasty and simple Middle Eastern food. Forget the hype and tuck in.

Honey & Co on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in 8/10, Restaurant review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

