Leftover Egg Whites? Make Lemon Meringue Cupcakes

I’m rather partial to a carbonara, sometimes it’s the only thing that will do. After a hard day in the office there can be nothing more satisfying than a huge bowl of pasta with a rich, creamy, salty sauce and a cold glass of white wine. Quick, easy and comforting. It’s the way to my heart.

But what to do with the leftover egg whites?? It seems a waste to throw them away.

An egg white omelette perhaps? Hardly! In my experience, the sort of person who eats carbonara is not the sort of person who eats egg white omelettes and I am no exception. I like my omelettes with yolk and plenty of flavour.

A pisco sour then? Now you’re talking. One of my favourite cocktails. A delicious, tart mixture of pisco, lime, bitters, sugar syrup and egg white. One is never enough, which is why every night can’t be cocktail night.

Recently I was left with some post carbonara egg whites and fancied baking with them instead. I only had three, plus three whole eggs, and I was keen to use them all up. Surely there were plenty of recipes out there, or so I thought.

I had a quick google to see what I could find. Not very much was the answer. I was actually very surprised at the limited number of recipes that required extra egg white and those that did needed more than three. I decided to tweet for help but again, I was very surprised at the limited responses. The best idea came from @CustardLeeder. Lemon meringue cupcakes. I’d never come across them before but they sounded fun.

I had a look on google and the first link that appeared was this recipe from This Morning. I had all of the ingredients in the house including some fantastic lemon curd that a friend gave to me for my birthday, so I went with it and made these fab little cupcakes with a dollop of curd in the centre and a soft meringue top.

20130703-102639.jpg

I needed:

125g salted butter, softened
2 tsp vanilla extract
150g caster sugar
Finely grated zest of 2 lemons
3 room temp medium eggs, beaten well together
225g self raising flour, sieved
3 tbsp milk
6-7 tbsp lemon curd
3 medium egg whites
Pinch of cream of tartar
240g caster sugar, assuming the whites are 120g
1 tbsp granulated sugar

The recipe was really simple, exactly how I like them:

1. Preheat the oven to 190°C gas 5.

2. Beat the soft butter, sugar, lemon zest and vanilla together really well.

3. Add 2 tbsp of flour to the mixture and mix in well. Add the eggs a little at a time. Add the flour, then finally the milk.

4. Spoon half of the mixture into 12 paper lined patty tins. Add a teaspoon of lemon curd, then top with the other half of the cake mixture.

5. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until well risen and browned. Remove and cool.

20130703-102700.jpg

6. Turn the heat up to 220 C gas 7.

7. Whisk the whites and cream of tartar until foamy then add half the sugar and continue whisking until glossy and thick, do not overbeat.
Add the rest of the sugar and whisk for a few seconds.

8. Pipe a ring of meringue around the outside of the cup cake.

9. Place a teaspoon of lemon curd into the centre, then top with a second rosette of meringue and sprinkle with a little granulated sugar.

10. Place on a baking tray and place into the hot oven to brown for a couple of minutes.

11. Remove, dust with icing sugar and serve cool.

20130703-102716.jpg

They turned out pretty well and I think with a bit more patience and care they would have been even better. I rushed the piping for example and used a sandwich bag rather than a proper piping bag. Very lazy indeed but even so, not a bad effort for a school night, not bad at all.

This entry was posted in Recipe review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Leftover Egg Whites? Make Lemon Meringue Cupcakes

  1. custard25 says:

    Thanks for the mention. Love a cupcake!

Leave a Reply

