Street Kitchen @ The Miller

Recently I’ve been very excited to find that invitations to various restaurants and openings have been flooding into my inbox. Well, when I say flooding, I mean about one a week, but in comparison to the drought that came before it certainly feels like a flood. I’ve now been treated to quite a few freebies and it has been really fun to be able to take friends along for a free meal out or to try something new.

Despite the slight guilt that comes with getting something for nothing (I am British after all), there hasn’t yet been an opportunity to tell you all about it because, although I’ve had some very nice meals, I’m sticking to my guns and only blogging about places that I want to shout to the rooftops about.

Last Wednesday I went to a preview of the new Street Kitchen residency at The Miller in Bermondsey, which promises a Street Kitchen approach to the classic hotdog. I hadn’t anticipated writing about it as it was just a chance to sample the menu and provide feedback before the launch, so apologies for the lack of photos. However, on the night I was really impressed by the standard of the hotdogs and looking back at the pictures now I feel that familiar craving that ends up drawing me back to the same places over and over again.

Street Kitchen has been on the go for a while but as far as I know, this is the first time they have decided to focus on hotdogs. There were 3 options available and I tried 2 of them (sadly they had run out by the time I went to try the third!). They were creatively called American Pitbull, Boston Hound and Basque Terrier.

The first thing that I noticed about these hotdogs was the quality of the sausages. Unlike the traditional frankfurter, these were hearty sausages with an amazing smoky flavour that actually gave them a bit of a spice. All ingredients used by Street Kitchen come from the UK and the pork for the sausages was rare breed, free-range and sourced by The Butchery Ltd just down the road in Bermondsey. What more could you want?! I was told that beef and veggie sausages are also in the works.

The buns were also pretty special. We were very impressed by the fact that the middle had actually been cut out in order to make room for the sausage and filling. Sometimes it’s the small things that make the difference! The buns are also local, developed by Rinkoff Bakeries.

Then there was the fillings. The American Pitbull was topped with chapel down red wine onions, ketchup, sweet mustard dressing and pickled cucumber. Unfortunately we didn’t get to try this, but it certainly sounds good.

We did try the Boston Hound which included a precision sliced portion of tender slow braised belly pork, red cabbage slaw, celeriac remoulade and barbeque sauce. It was a great combo and we loved the addition of broken pork crackling on the top.

20130515-103601.jpg

My favourite was the Basque Terrier, this came with a chorizo salsa, avocado, jalapeno and pickled red onions. The combo was fantastic and I love strong flavours so the pickled red onions and the chorizo salsa were a dream for me.

20130515-103608.jpg

Street Kitchen at The Miller officially launches on 17 May and I would thoroughly recommend that you go down, especially if you find yourself hungry near London Bridge, just come out by the Shard, walk past Guy’s Hospital you will find it on your left hand side. The hot dogs I tried were a 9/10 and they were only the prototypes! I can’t wait to try the real deal.

Miller of Munsfield on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in 9/10, Pop ups and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

