Easter Egg Desserts : Tiramisu in a Homemade Easter Egg

20130401-093144.jpg

I had intended to post this recipe last weekend. It’s the second part of the “Italian Eggstravaganza” dessert that I did for my Comic Relief Supper Club and I’d decided that Easter was perfect time to share the recipes, but you know what they say about best laid plans ….

I uploaded the photos on Easter Sunday and then set about baking bread, making a pie and constructing a huge chocolate cake for lunch with friends. The lunch went on well into the evening and before I knew it, the bank holiday weekend had whizzed by and I was back at work.

So a week on, here it is. Better late than never.

It may not be quite so apt now but it’s definitely a recipe worth having, although not one for the faint hearted I’m afraid. The tiramisu is easy but making your own chocolate eggs, now that is a different story.

It wasn’t really the eggs themselves that caused me difficulty. It was gluing the two halves together. I tempered the chocolate so that it was all shiny and beautiful when it came out of the moulds but then, by the time I’d had my sticky paws all over it trying to glue them together with more chocolate, I couldn’t help but be disappointed by the slightly unprofessional finish.

It is also a rather time consuming exercise (especially if you need to make two eggs but only have two moulds), so I would definitely recommend doing this a day or two before your dinner party, remembering that the tiramisu will also need at least 8 hours to set.

To make one egg, which will serve 2 – 4, you will need:

125g 70% chocolate
1 double espresso
1 tablespoon spiced rum
50g caster sugar
2 medium eggs
25ml Marsala
150g mascarpone
6 Savoiardi sponge fingers
Cocoa powder

20130401-092920.jpg

First you need to temper the chocolate. I did this the cheats way, by melting 2/3 of the chocolate in a basin over hot water and then removing the bowl and adding the final 1/3. You will need to stir the chocolate until it reaches 32°C. This will take about 20 minutes or so, a job best done in front of the TV!

Once the chocolate is at the right temperature, you need to spread a layer evenly into your moulds, making sure that you don’t go right to the top as you need an open-topped egg. There are many ways to do this but I found that using the back of a spoon worked best for me.

Put the moulds into the fridge, until the chocolate is set and then repeat until you have used almost all of the chocolate. This should be about 4 layers.

You then need to do the very delicate job of removing the eggs from the moulds. Strictly this should be easy, as the chocolate will shrink as it sets. However, I found that getting my edges thick was tricky and therefore easing the eggs out required a gentle touch and lots of patience, as I pulled at the sides and encouraged the air to slip between the chocolate and the plastic.

20130401-092931.jpg

When it comes out it should look shiny and generally magnificent!

Then comes the job of sticking the two halves together. I am certainly no expert at this, so you might have a better method, but I found that the best way was to place them into a martini glass and then use the back of a teaspoon to spread melted chocolate over the seam, on the inside. I then chilled the eggs and repeated.

20130401-092941.jpg

Once you have a sturdy chocolate egg, it’s time to make the filling.

You first need to separate the eggs and whisk the whites until stiff. Next mix the yolks, marsala and sugar (reserving a heaped teaspoon) and then whisk in the mascarpone. Once this is combined, carefully fold in the egg whites.

20130401-092953.jpg

In a wide bowl combine the warm espresso with the rum and the reserved sugar. Then dip in a sponger finger, making sure you don’t let it get too soggy, and place this in the bottom of the egg. Repeat, snapping the fingers into parts where necessary, until you have a layer. Spoon 1/3 of the egg mixture over the top and then repeat. Keep going until you have 3 layers of each, ending on an egg layer.

20130401-093003.jpg

Once you reach the top, chill in the fridge for a minimum of 8 hours and then dust with cocoa before serving.

20130401-093016.jpg

Ta da!! Don’t they look pretty.

I served mine on a bed of Mini Eggs (because you can’t ever have too much chocolate) but I found these glasses were very handy for keeping them upright in the fridge.

I appreciate that this may all sound like a bit too much hard work, so you could assemble the tiramisu in a more traditional way and it would work just fine. In fact, if you have time to chill it overnight, it would then be a very easy pud indeed. However, I can tell you from experience that snapping off a chunk of chocolate and then scooping up the tiramisu into your mouth is really rather pleasant.

This entry was posted in My recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Easter Egg Desserts : Tiramisu in a Homemade Easter Egg

  1. Celia says:

    Best dessert ever!

  2. Frank H-S says:

    My first thought would be use left over easter eggs and carefully SMASH the top off!

    • A very wise thought that would be indeed. Would save your hours and £££, not to mention the washing up. No good for a supper club though, surely everything has to be homemade?!

  3. Frank H-S says:

    I’ll keep it a secret if you do… 😉

Leave a Reply

