The Last Days Of Pisco: A Peruvian Pop Up

Being a Yorkshire girl, I often wonder whether I’ll one day decide I’m over London. It seems to happen to a lot of people. In fact, no sooner had I got here than one by one my friends started moving away. Many of my Northern friends can’t understand why I’d want to live here in the first place, with the crazy property prices, nightmare commutes and unfriendly people. But I’ll tell you what, I bloody love it!!

Right now, as far I am concerned, London absolutely rocks. I’ve met loads of lovely people, have a very pleasant commute and granted, I’m never going to be able to afford my dream house, but who cares?! Life is for living, not obsessing about buying property.

Living here is like a dream come true for me, never a moment to get bored, something different happening every day should you want to try it out. I just love the variety and the ability to be spontaneous. To go out for the day with no plans and come home having experienced new things, especially new foodie things.

Pop-ups and supper clubs are a great way to experience something new and this weekend Mr E and I had a fabulous impromptu evening at The Last Days Of Pisco pop up, tasting Peruvian food for the first time.

20120826-104622.jpg

This is a regular pop-up which has been running throughout the summer, moving from venue to venue. We went to one at 22-26 Farringdon Lane, a fab little venue and well worth checking out if you’re looking for somewhere to host a birthday party or event.

I started off with a Pisco Sour, a very traditional Peruvian cocktail, so I was told. I was a bit apprehensive at first, as the pisco tasted very similar to tequila and there was a double shot in my rather small cocktail but the barman told me to have faith and he was right. Once it had been expertly mixed with ice, egg white, lime and sugar syrup and topped with a dash or two of angostura bitters, it had transformed into a very tasty drink indeed.

20120827-215234.jpg

The atmosphere was relaxed, with some great music, low key table decor and a very simple set menu. It was £13 for a seabass ceviche and yuca chips with the option to order desert afterwards.

20120826-104655.jpg

I’ve been wanting to try ceviche for a while but I had no idea I’d like it as much as I did. The seabass was marinaded in lime, condensed milk, tomato, coriander, chilli and garlic. Mr E thought the lime was a bit too powerful but that’s probably why l loved it so much. I’m a total citrus freak. It reminded me of the first time I tried Tom Yum Soup in Thailand. So sour that you almost screw your face up with every mouthful but then immediately go back for more. It tasted completely different to Tom Yum Soup though and completely different to anything I’d eaten before. I loved it.

20120826-104712.jpg

The yuca chips were also good. Crispy outside and fluffy inside, they were flavoured with oregano and served with a lime and chilli aioli. The yuca is a root which grows in Peru and is also sometimes called cassava. Its earthy quality made it a great accompaniment to the sharp ceviche.

20120826-104704.jpg

We couldn’t resist pudding, given that the options were salted caramel truffles and dulce de leche ice cream, so we decided to have one of each, each. Dulce de leche is my favourite ice cream flavour and this one didn’t disappoint. In fact, Mr E said it was the nicest ice cream he had ever eaten – which is a serious shout. I think if I’d let him he would’ve happily ordered another few pots.

20120826-104724.jpg

All in all it was a great pop up. Fantastic food, great venue, good music and some kick ass drinks. The perfect ingredients for a Friday night!

I think there might be a few more before the summer is over so if you fancy going along you can get details from their twitter account @TLDOpisco

This entry was posted in Pop ups and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Last Days Of Pisco: A Peruvian Pop Up

  1. Ailbhe says:

    I only tasted Peruvian recently for the first time too (Lima London – stunning, go!). Really fresh, different flavours. Loved it. This sounds great fun, great find 🙂

Leave a Reply

