Salmon with Piquante Pepper Salsa

I am currently grinning from ear to ear because I’ve had exactly 10,000 views since I started my blog. I realise that successful blogs probably have more views than this in a day but it feels like a real achievement to me. I started Every Meal Matters in September last year, not really thinking anyone would read it and I have loved every second of it. To think that people actually enjoy reading my posts is the icing on the cake, so thank you very much. I really appreciate you stopping by and I hope you find something useful or interesting to take away with you every now and again.

If I were a mathematician I’d be able to tell you what the chances of me noticing this are. I’m sure there will be some complicated calculation to work it out. It must be about one in a million though because you can only see your total views when you log on to WordPress via a PC or laptop and I’ve probably done that a maximum 5 or 6 times since I started the blog (I mainly do my posts via the app). Obviously I would still have been delighted if it was 8,369 or 9,864, but for some reason the fact that it was such a glorious round number makes it feel like fate. Perhaps someone out there thought I needed cheering up!

Anyhow, enough about figures. The reason that I logged on is because I made a quick and scrummy dinner tonight and thought I would share it with you.

20120612-214647.jpg

It is loosely based on a dish in the Ottolenghi Plenty cookbook which I love, so if you want an expert’s version you may want to have a peak in there. I just did it quick and easy with ingredients that I had in the house.

I will give you the recipe for one person and then you can just multiply it by the number of people you are cooking for.

You will need:

150g salmon fillet
A handful of Jersey Royal potatoes
A handful of asparagus
Extra virgin olive oil
Butter
Parsley
4 or 5 Peppadew piquante peppers (in a jar)
4 or 5 whole hazelnuts
1/4 lemon
A handful of chives
Red wine vinegar
Sugar

Here is step by step guide. It should take less than 30 minutes from opening the fridge to sitting down to eat.

1. Pre-heat the oven to 200°c and get some water on the boil for the potatoes.

2. Place the hazelnuts on a baking tray (which will be used for the salmon later) and roast for 10 minutes.

3. Get your potatoes on the go. If they are large chop them in half and cook for about 10 – 12 minutes, until tender

4. Rub the salmon fillet with a little oil and season with salt and pepper. Cook on a hot griddle pan skin side up for 2 minutes.

5. Whilst the salmon is in the griddle pan, snap bottoms off the asparagus and blanch in the potato water.

6. Remove the hazelnuts from the oven and peel off the skins, then bash them up a bit in a pestle and mortar.

7. Carefully remove the salmon from the griddle pan and place it on the baking tray skin side down. Cook for 6 – 7 minutes.

8. Add the aspargus to the hot griddle pan to get a nice charred effect. Cook for about 5 minutes.

9. Now for the magic. It’s the salsa that really makes this dish amazing. Chop up the peppers and mix with a small glug of vinegar, a large glug of extra virgin olive oil, a big squeeze of lemon juice, a small sprinkle of sugar, a pinch of salt and pepper, the crushed hazelnuts and a generous helping of chopped chives.

10. Add generous helpings of butter and parsley to your potatoes and serve.

I am trying to be healthy at the moment and I reckon this is a pretty nutitious meal. Most importantly it tasted amazing. I actually licked the plate.

Apologies if the recipe seems a bit vague, it’s not supposed to be. It’s just that you can’t really go wrong. Use the ingredients listed (or similar if you don’t have them) and taste the salsa as you go along, adding what you think it needs to sing. A dash of lemon here, a pinch of salt there. You will soon find the perfect combination to suit you.

I especially love using the piquante peppers as they add a really nice tang and a bit of heat but there is no reason why you can’t use ordinary red peppers.

If you decide to give this a go I would love to know how you get on. I really think it’s a bit of a show stopper, perfect for an impressive weeknight supper.

p.s. before I posted this I couldn’t help but check whether my views were still at 10,000. Just to see how likely it was that I would catch it on that number. It’s on 10,013 now, so as far as I am concerned I have seen fate in action tonight :0)

This entry was posted in My recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

