Mango Chicken – My Great Alternative To Chinese Takeaway

I know it’s dirty but sometimes I really crave a Chinese takeaway, especially sweet and sour chicken. There I said it. Shoot me!

My problem with ordering takeaway is that it usually ends up costing a fortune, doesn’t actually taste that good and leaves me feeling guilty. I was therefore delighted when I found this recipe the other day in my Chinese Food Made Easy cookbook.

It’s not quite sweet and sour, as there isn’t really a sour element but it’s along the same lines and was totally delicious. It is also super quick. We are talking 15 minutes tops.

I couldn’t start cooking until Mr E was home and I was absolutely starving so to get things moving along I got all my ingredients chopped and at the ready. As you can see, you don’t need much.

20120517-145133.jpg

The recipe says you will need

Groundnut oil (I used walnut as we’d run out)
1 tablespoon grated ginger
100g sliced chicken breast (I used about 300g, Mr E wouldn’t stand for less!)
1 tablespoon Shaohsing rice wine
1 green chilli finely chopped
1 red pepper diced
200ml puréed fresh mango
150ml pineapple juice (I didn’t have any so puréed some fresh pineapple aswell)
1 tablespoon light soy sauce
Black pepper
1/2 fresh mango sliced

I also added a diced onion because I fancied it.

First get your oil nice and hot in the wok, then add the ginger (and onion if using).

20120517-145156.jpg

Then add the chicken, shortly followed by the rice wine.

Keep stirring and add the chilli and pepper. Then after a minute or two add everything else and let it bubble for a few minutes.

That is it. It really is Chinese food made easy. Cook up some jasmine rice and voila.

20120517-145207.jpg

A delicious Chinese meal for two. Reminiscent of a takeaway but much quicker and tastier!

20120517-145213.jpg

This entry was posted in Recipe review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

