A Posh Carbonara : A Splash of Fizz & No Cream

I absolutely love Italian food. If I could only ever eat one cuisine again I wouldn’t think twice about choosing Italian. I often dream of living there, learning the language, cooking the food, getting to know the locals …. maybe one day!

When I get home from work and want something quick and easy to eat, I almost always plump for a pasta dish. I can usually rustle one up from ingredients that I have in the house and pasta never fails to satisfy me, especially if I’m ravenous.

One of my favourite pasta cookbooks is Pasta & Ravioli from the River Cafe Pocket Book collection. It’s a really handy little book with over 100 simple, delicious recipes. Often I don’t follow them to the letter, I just use them as a guide or for inspiration.

There is a great recipe in here for carbonara, which they call ‘tagliatelle alla carbonara with prosciutto’.

20120426-231513.jpg

Earlier this week I made a slightly adapted version of this and it was yummy.

I made one portion and used :

100g fresh tagliatelle
75g parma ham
20g butter
50 ml prosecco
25g parmesan
2 medium egg yolks

This is a meal that can be made in 10 minutes. It’s perfect to eat in front of the tv with a glass of something nice.

First tear the parma ham into strips and put a third to one side. Then heat a glug of extra virgin olive oil and fry the rest of it for a minute or two.

Next add the butter and prosecco to the pan and let it simmer for a couple of minutes. I used prosecco because I had some open, otherwise white wine would have been absolutely fine.

Whilst the pan is simmering, get the pasta cooking and mix the egg yolks and the parmesan together.

Once the pasta is cooked, add it to the frying pan, turn off the heat, stir in the egg mixture and season with salt and pepper.

To serve just pour into a bowl, add the uncooked parma ham, some parsley and some extra parmesan for good measure.

20120426-225735.jpg

Sounds easy doesn’t it? It really is. I promise. Brownies honour.

PLEASE NOTE THAT ANY ADVERTS APPEARING ON THIS BLOG HAVE BEEN PUT HERE BY WORDPRESS AND NOT BY ME

This entry was posted in Recipe review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Posh Carbonara : A Splash of Fizz & No Cream

  1. Pingback: Leftover Egg Whites? Make Lemon Meringue Cupcakes | Every Meal Matters

Leave a Reply

