A Very Tasty Pasta Dish

I occasionally find myself creating a new dish, Ready Steady Cook style, with only ingredients that I have in the house. This is usually for one of two reasons. Either I am felling lazy/hungover/poorly and can’t bring myself to go to the shops or I have lots of sad looking items in the fridge that are approaching the end of their useful life.

On this occasion it was a combination of the two. The ingredients in my fridge were:

Sweet potato
Feta
Onion
Oregano
Pancetta
Eggs
Chillis

The obvious answer was a frittata but that idea was immediately poo pooed when I suggested it.

I would have liked to have roasted the sweet potatoes and made a nice salad but there wasn’t a lettuce leaf in sight.

So, I went for a pasta dish. If all else fails and it seems like there is literally nothing in the house I always seem to be able to conjure up a pasta dish. This one was particularly good and definitely worth sharing. I was very disappointed when I got to the end. I wished I’d made more (or not shared what I had made!).

20120115-094556.jpg

First of all I fried off the pancetta (100g cubed) and added a chopped onion, a chopped red chilli and a small handful of fresh oregano. I cooked this slowly for around 15 minutes until the onion had caramelised.

Next I added about 1/2 small glass of red wine and then a tin of chopped tomatoes (I would prefer plum but that’s all I had) and a few splashes of red wine vinegar. I also added a small pinch of sugar – not sure why, it just seemed like a good idea.

I cooked this slowly for around 25 minutes whilst boiling some rigatoni.

When the sauce was nice and thick I added salt, pepper and another splash or two of vinegar, mixed in the pasta and topped with crumbled feta and a bit more oregano.

It was proper nice! Spicy, sweet, sour, salty, rich, DELICIOUS!

PLEASE NOTE ANY ADVERTS APPEARING ON THIS BLOG HAVE BEEN PUT HERE BY WORDPRESS AND NOT BY ME

This entry was posted in My recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Very Tasty Pasta Dish

  1. Tom says:

    Your ingenuity with store cupboard items is amazing. keep em coming

Leave a Reply

