Steak : Heston’s Way

20120106-091541.jpg />

Doesn’t that look delicious? And it was!!

Two nights ago I caught a bit of Heston’s new tv show and he was demonstrating how to cook a steak. I wasn’t hugely interested as I got my steaks down to a tee ages ago. Hot griddle pan, two minutes on each side, six minutes to rest, job done.

However, I already had 2 rump steaks in the fridge waiting for dinner last night and so I thought I would give Heston’s way a go. The result was amazing: perfectly cooked, tender, flavoursome steak.

Now I’ve tried it I’m not sure I’ll ever go back. The only downside was that there was quite a lot of smoke in the kitchen and spitting from the pan.

Here is the link to the full recipe

http://www.channel4.com/4food/recipes/chefs/heston-blumenthal/hestons-perfect-steak

The basic premis is that you must do the following:

  • Choose a nice thick steak with plenty of marbeling;
  • Let your steak come to room temperature before cooking;
  • Add olive oil to your pan and get it smoking hot;
  • Cook the steak for 3 – 4 minutes, turning every 10 -15 seconds; and
  • Let the steak rest for 5 minutes.

Try it and let me know how you get on. I really think it is the way forward!

PLEASE NOTE ANY ADVERTS APPEARING ON THIS BLOG HAVE BEEN PUT HERE BY WORDPRESS AND NOT BY ME

This entry was posted in Recipe review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Steak : Heston’s Way

Leave a Reply

