The Hairy Bikers’ Syrup Sponge Pud

I’m not a big fan of winter. I like sunshine, it makes me happy. There is nothing better than a gorgeous picnic in the park on a hot summer’s day, reading the papers, drinking champagne ….

I know, I know, there’s no point pining after the sunshine at this time of year. It’s a long time til it will be back and I need to focus on the positive.

So, in the spirit of positive thinking, here is a list of things I like about winter:

1. Christmas
2. Jumpers
3. Pies
4. Open fires
5. Stodgy puddings

Don’t get me wrong, I am perfectly happy to eat pies and stodgy puddings all year round but it’s not quite the same is it? There’s nothing better on a cold miserable day than tucking into a decent beef pie or a sticky toffee pudding with lashings of custard.

So, I was absolutely delighted when I arrived at a friends house to find out he had whipped up a syrup sponge pudding for our dinner.

20111207-083909.jpg

The recipe was courtesy of The Hairy Bikers and you can get the full details below.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/steamed_syrup_sponge_86564

You basically just need to whisk together 50g golden syrup, 175g butter, 125g caster sugar, 3 eggs and 175g self raising flour. Then mix in the zest of a lemon, pour 50g golden syrup in the bottom of a 2 pint pudding basin, followed with the mixture and steam for 1 and 3/4 hours.

20111207-084537.jpg

Absolutely delicious – thanks Phil!

It was surprisingly very light and fluffy but it still had the comfort factor. I particularly enjoyed the lemony flavour, almost like a warm lemon drizzle with golden syrup poured over.

I would thoroughly recommend making this if you have people over for Sunday lunch this winter.

I will be and I’ll be serving it with a vat of custard!

20111207-084552.jpg

This entry was posted in Recipe review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

