My Favourite 10 Minute Dinner

I almost always cook this delicious prawn spaghetti if I’m home alone on a school night. It’s perfect for those times when you want something really tasty as soon as you walk through the door (which is pretty often for me as I am so impatient).

20111020-084627.jpg

The beauty of this dish is that it’s ready in the time it takes to cook the spaghetti and I usually have everything in so I don’t need to mess about going to the shop. At worst I need to grab a bag of rocket or basil (although either/or is fine if you have it in).

This is how it usually works out for me:

1. Get home from work, fill kettle and boil.

2. Take off coat and shoes.

3. Take frozen raw king prawns out of the freezer. They usually come in a 400g bag so I use half. Put them in a sieve and put under a running tap to get rid of any frost.

4. Pour boiled water into a saucepan, add salt and a fifth of a pack of spaghetti (around 100g).

5. Pour a glass of cold white wine and have a drink.

6. Finely chop a clove of garlic and half a fresh red chilli.

7. Take a large handful of rocket and roughly chop.

8. Tear up a small handful of basil.

9. Zest a lemon.

At this point the spaghetti should have about 5 minutes left.

10. Pour a glug of extra virgin olive oil into a frying pan and add the garlic and chilli for a minute.

11. Add the prawns and fry for another minute.

12. Add a big tablespoon of sundried tomato paste and give it a good mix.

13. Add whatever is left in your glass of wine (about 1/2 small glass) and refill.

14. Drain spaghetti and pour back into the saucepan.

15. Add lemon zest, a good squeeze of lemon and salt and pepper to the prawns.

16. Add the prawn mixture to the spaghetti pan with the basil and rocket.

17. Mix up well and pour into a pasta bowl.

18. Grab a fork and settle down on the sofa to watch my favourite tv programme.

This is quite a greedy portion but it’s so delicious that I feel cheated if I have less. It can be made for more than one, just multiply the quantities by the number of people.

The key is to not start cooking the prawn mixture too early and not to get too heavy handed with the lemon etc.

Also, I would thoroughly recommend Morrisons “The Best” spaghetti, which comes in a light green paper packet. Before I tried this I thought all dried pasta tasted the same but it has a really great flavour, which is perfect for a simple dish like this. I’m sure there are loads of other nice alternatives out there, I just haven’t tried them yet.

This entry was posted in My recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Favourite 10 Minute Dinner

  1. Smelly says:

    This is one of my favourite kind of school night teas too Nikki 🙂 Loving the blog x

Leave a Reply

