A Dirty Burger in Kentish Town

I know, I know, you’re sick of hearing about burgers, it’s all anyone is talking about these days. (Well that and chicken and hotdogs and all the other fashionable fast foods of the moment.) I get it. No more blogs about burgers.

The problem is, I had a really good one. A really, really good one! AND it was in Kentish Town, a place where there isn’t a huge amount of great food to talk about.

I’ve tried to hold it in, I really have, but I’m sorry, I just can’t. So I promise I’ll be quick.

Just take a look at this.

20121106-184036.jpg

Delicious patties cooked to order and finished off under one of those big metal dome thingys

20121106-184026.jpg

Onion fries, like onion rings but not in a ring. Genius!

20121106-184030.jpg

The main event, a juicy, crunchy, soft bundle of tastiness.

So, if you’re in the North London area and in need of a quick fix, here’s what you need to do:

1) Head to Dirty Burger, a shack behind Pizza East on Highgate Road.

2) Order yourself a cheeseburger for £5.50 – it’s the only option on the menu.

3) Choose between crinkle cut fries and onion fries for £2.50 – again the only options.

4) If you are feeling especially hungry order a shake, otherwise go for a beer.

5) Wait with anticipation for 10 minutes whilst everything is cooked to order.

6) Collect your order and get plenty of napkins, this is going to be greasy!

Even though Dirty Burger is very close to me, I’d put off going because I read a bad review which said that the burger was grey inside. Then I found myself sitting on the train home from work one day absolutely ravenous and it was all I could think about. I toyed with my conscience and decided to take the plunge. So there I was, at 6:30 on a Tuesday night, sitting on my own eating a dirty burger. Literally. Boy was it good! I have no idea why it received a bad review because mine was amazing, perhaps just having an off day.

Dirty Burger has a very specific place in the world. It’s quick, it’s naughty and it’s satisfying. You don’t even need to take your coat off to eat it. It’s not the best burger ever but it’s the best burger you’ll get in North London for £5.50. Just pick your moment correctly (perhaps on the way home after a few beverages) and you’ll find a small piece of heaven in the Dirty Burger shack, I promise.

8/10

Dirty Burger on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in 8/10, Restaurant review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Dirty Burger in Kentish Town

  1. auron88 says:

    I remember you tweeting about it that evening… Sounds awesome – always happy to try a new burger. Dirty little secret.

  2. I wasn’t that keen on my burger – I was one of those who had a grey one. BUT those crinkle cut fries and the onion fries were out of this world – seriously, seriously good! Reading this I think I’d go back and give it a try, if I was in the area. A good read!

    • Yes, it was your post that put me off. I think the message I was trying to get across is ‘don’t travel across London for it and don’t expect it to be gourmet but if you’re in the area and you’re hungry, it’s a bloody good burger’.

Leave a Reply

