The Manor Arms in Streatham

Streatham definitely isn’t a foodie destination. Nor is it’s close relative St Reatham, although it may sound more likely. However, if you look hard enough you will always find a few hidden gems and The Manor Arms is one of these. It’s a huge, but very cosy, pub just off the high road.

I can recommend the Sunday lunch and also the mid week fixed price menu – both very tasty and good value. This Friday I went for the full priced menu and although it is a little bit pricey I think it’s a good choice for someone wanting good quality gastro pub food in this part of South London. Always a solid 8/10.

The menu was fairly traditional but also included some more adventurous options such as snails and monkfish cheeks

I started with confit rabbit. I can’t tell you exactly what it came with but I can tell you that it was delicious. Much paler than I expected and much more flavoursome. There was a smoked anchovy involved which really made the dish and also some chicory with a tart salad dressing that added a nice but of contrast. Yummy!

20111119-173148.jpg

The rabbit was popular, three of us went for it. The others went for snails or scallops with black pudding, both of which had very good reviews.

20111119-173129.jpg

20111119-173139.jpg

For main course I went for cod. Again I can’t quite remember every item that was on the plate but it came with salsify, bacon and a killer truffle sauce. The cod was big and juicy and absolutely the star of the show. The whole thing was a real treat.

20111119-173250.jpg

Others went for a very tasty looking chicken, potato and leek pie, which was served with cabbage or liver and bacon served with devilled potatoes. Again both delicious, so I was told.

20111119-230736.jpg

20111119-173203.jpg

Finally, one of my favourite deserts, sticky toffee pudding with vanilla ice-cream. Followed by a taste of someone else’s cheese. What more could you ask for?!

20111119-173315.jpg

20111119-173333.jpg

The Manor Arms on Urbanspoon

PLEASE NOTE THAT ANY ADVERTS APPEARING ON THIS BLOG HAVE BEEN PUT HERE BY WORDPRESS AND NOT BY ME

This entry was posted in 8/10, Restaurant review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Manor Arms in Streatham

  1. francesca says:

    I have just had what I thought was a pretty satisfying lunch but having read this can think of nothing but my next meal. I think my life would be improved with the addition of smoked anchovies. Can you buy them in the UK? If so I think I’ve identified a request for when you visit…!

Leave a Reply

